XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X5 Forums > General BMW X5 (E70) and X5M Forum (2006-2013)

05-26-2021, 12:10 AM   #1
Jon_G
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2006 ZHP 6sp + 2012 X5m

4x4 Shop Canada 10.25" Android CarPlay Music "Skipping Issue"

Hi Everyone. I've been working on an issue on and off for the past 2 months, and have yet to find a solution. I could use some help.

I have the a 3 month old 10.25" Qualcomm Snapdragon Android 10 Head Unit with wireless CarPlay that I bought from the 4x4 Shop Canada. It has 4G RAM + 64G ROM (8 Core) - 4G/LTE capability.

My problem is when playing music over in CarPlay, over any streaming service like Spotify or Apple Music, or even playing music downloaded to my phone from those services, the music will randomly "skip" like a scratched CD. It sometimes will happen every 15-20 seconds, and other times it will go for 30-40 minutes with no issue. When it is happening, which is often, it's irritating enough that I often will switch the music off, which is very unfortunate given music is half the reason (other reason is GPS) that I wanted CarPlay.

Does anyone have a solution? Or better yet, has anyone purchased this exact unit and NOT had this problem? I've read many people say they have the issue, and have yet to hear anyone say they don't have the issue. Small sample size though, so looking to hear more people's experience with this 4x4 shop unit.

Thank you everyone in advance for your help/thoughts.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2021, 01:43 AM   #2
dang2407
Private
France
Rep
Drives: 2010 BMW X5 E70 35D MSport

What phone do you have? I had a Galaxy A51 that did exactly that with my bluetooth connected earphones. Problem was worse in busy areas where wifi and other bluetooth users were about. Replaced the phone with a Huawei P3 and the problem went away.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2021, 01:46 AM   #3
Jon_G
Private