XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X6 Forums > General BMW X6 and X6M Forum

10-15-2008, 05:56 PM   #1
Suzie's Dad
Second Lieutenant
Canada
Rep
Drives: ML550/AMG

Be thankful it's a BMW. Be very thankful.

I lent my X5 to someone yesterday and took their GMC Envoy to drive while they had my car. Oh my, oh my, I had forgotten why I drive BMWs. The seats in the Envoy were horribly uncomfortable, completely the wrong shape for a normal human being and covered in cheap, slippery leather. The shoulder belt came up from below my left shoulder then over the shoulder and down to the buckle; within ten minutes my shoulder hurt so badly I took the seatbelt off altogether, something I have NEVER done before. The ride is pillowy soft, but despite that when it hit a bad surface the whole vehicle shook and rattled and felt as if it was falling apart. The steering was vague and the roadholding in corners was non-existent. I know the Envoy is cheap compared to a BMW, but this was an almost new vehicle being compared with a 6-1/2-year-old X5.

Be thankful, guys, that you drive (or soon will) an X6. Everybody should drive something like the POS I drove yesterday to remind themselves why we all pay so much for our Bimmers! (OK, OK, so I have deserted and am now waiting for a M*rc*d*s, but the two marques are very similar.)

BTW, she didn't buy the X5 ("too powerful; my husband scared himself") but I sold it today to someone who will appreciate it much more. He already has an M6 and wants a winter car. Nice to know my baby is going into good hands.
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2008, 06:09 PM   #2
x5mmm
!
Rep
Drives: E70 X5 4.8i

I have a yukon Denali Or at least I used to have it until last week, it went total lost !