XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X5 Forums > General BMW X5 (E70) and X5M Forum (2006-2013)

08-10-2014, 07:48 PM   #1
135ivert
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E88 135i,E70 X5M,E93 M3

E70 Buyer's Guide

We've decided that our fourth BMW (not all at once!) will be an E70 X5. However, I have a few obscure questions that I'm sure one of the forum members will know.

I'm looking for LCI versions with either the diesel engine or the N55 motor. 3rd row seat is not necessary (especially if it reduces cargo space or has other problems).
  1. Are all 2011 X5's LCI or do I have to look at a specific manufacturing date?
  2. On what trims are sport seats available? How do I find out if a car has the sport seats? Are they even necessary on the X5? (hint: they are mandatory on the 135i. I didn't like my wife's standard seats in her 328xi)
  3. Are there any "mandatory" options or any to avoid?
  4. Any other guidance is greatly appreciated

Like I said this will be our 4th BMW and I'm not averse to modding or doing my own maintenance. We just decided to get an X5 and want to make sure it's the right one as we want to keep it awhile.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2014, 09:00 PM   #2
JupiterBMW
Self Proclaimed Roundel Junkie
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 E90 M3 & '13 F25 X3

Welcome to my world. I've been doing a LOT of research lately, so I think I can help with a few of your questions, even though I'm yet to find out perfect vehicle.

1. Yes, they're all LCI.
2. I'm unsure if it was a standalone option, but sport seats are part of the Sport or M-sport package. There was the option to upgrade to the 20 way adjustable multi contour seats on the Sport/M Sport models though, so you have to look for them in the photos. I haven't sat in the multi contour seats yet to see if its a feature I really want.