XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X5 Forums > General BMW X5 (E70) and X5M Forum (2006-2013)

02-13-2023, 07:37 AM   #1
pontiacws699
Registered
Rep
Drives: 21 ram 2500 diesel laramie

opinions please regarding purchase x5m

Ok, Im new to the bmw world so to speak but am interested in getting one as a third vehicle. backstory - I do some regional travel in the north east for the company I work for and would probably put on 1000 miles a month give or take otherwise i work from home. I have a 2021 ram laramie diesel thats a nice truck but dont want to use that so much. I know some may thing this is crazy also but this will actually be my sons car in about a yr. He will be legally able to drive early next year. Hes 2 miles from school so not long drive. Yes hes responsible and drives my wifes car and my truck around (in certain areas ) with us to get experience behind the wheel. He's responsible ( has job and paying for most of it by cash hes saved) and very respectful of cars. But I understand he is also a kid and I know how I was also. Anyway, I found a 2010 x5m with 129 on the clock. I haven't driven this one yet but have other M's. He says it has service records but nothing major. He's asking 12k but he says it has a misfire code and needs plugs/coil packs. Says its drives great even now. Now I have no problem getting dirty and can turn a wrench ( industrial maintenance manager for yrs ) but with the problems these beast can have when they weren't taken care of really to begin with I wonder. Iv read the horror stories on here and other places but I also understand that if you build 50000 cars you only hear about the 2000 that failed or whatever the figures are.