XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X5 Forums > General BMW X5 (E70) and X5M Forum (2006-2013)

04-14-2020, 02:09 PM   #1
idrivex5
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW X5 35D

EGR delete

Im told I need a new EGR cooler and vacuum actuator. If I do the EGR "paperclip" delete will that take care of both? Or are these different things? Will I need a tune? Any concerns? (sorry, I'm new to these things and worry I will mess something else up unintentionally)

Thank you.
Rob

2012 X5 35d
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2020, 01:00 AM   #2
idrivex5
Registered
Rep

Can anyone tell me about this? Thank you
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2020, 07:52 AM   #3
Nyc Dito
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW X5 35d

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrivex5 View Post
Im told I need a new EGR cooler and vacuum actuator. If I do the EGR "paperclip" delete will that take care of both? Or are these different things? Will I need a tune? Any concerns? (sorry, I'm new to these things and worry I will mess something else up unintentionally)

Thank you.
Rob

2012 X5 35d
Question, is your cooler actually leaking? or is it just the vacuum valve?

The EGR cooler has the vacuum actuator on it and is available aftermarket made by BEHR (OE supplier) if you do not want to spend the full $500-$600 for a OE cooler.

What I remember from the "paperclip" mod was that you WILL have a light on your dash unless you get a tune that specifically removes the EGR function. But, if you are going with a tune many offer a stage 1or 2 tune and can remove the EGR function with that tune. I looked into that, but am going full deletes soon anyway...and I replaced the cooler anyway.